James Brooks violin concerto: found

January 14, 2019, 7:54 AM · Hi all - Several years ago, some of you were looking for the violin concerto by English composer James Brooks.

In case you're still interested, the British Library will (for a fee) e-mail you a PDF of the piano reduction. The price includes the copyright fee for personal use only because the arrangement is from the 1980s. I don't know why they don't offer the original score.

I paid about $38 (USD) for it. As we suspected, it's eminently playable. Even the piano part. :-)

The last movement is a straight up British-isles jig. I love it. Cheers!

Replies (2)

January 14, 2019, 7:57 AM · Here is a link to the score in the online catalogue:
January 14, 2019, 9:42 AM · That link didn't work for me.

If they are not offering the score to the public, that's probably to keep it from getting out in the wild. Folks will pay $38 for music, but if their community orchestra is faced with the prospect of paying $5000 for a score and parts, then folks might be more inclined toward piracy.

This discussion has been archived and is no longer accepting responses.

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram Email

Violinist.com is made possible by...

Shar Music
Shar Music

Yamaha Violin Finder
Yamaha Violin Finder

Corilon Violins
Corilon Violins

Pirastro Strings
Pirastro Strings

Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases
Dimitri Musafia, Master Maker of Violin and Viola Cases

Bay Fine Strings Violin Shop

Bobelock Cases



Los Angeles Violin Shop

Nazareth Gevorkian Violins

Potter Violins

Pro-Am Strings

Violin Lab

Wangbow Violin Bow Workshop