Outstanding Recordings of Bach's Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin

October 10, 2006 at 03:34 AM · I'm a guitarist. I fell in love with and studied the violin for a short period of time, but, alas, the guitar is a jealous mistress. I still worship the violin from afar, though.

That said; I'm hoping to get some direction in finding a new interpretation/performer of Bach's Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin. These are some of my favorite pieces, ever, and I've been listening to the Scheryng recording on Odyssey for a long time. It's, by far, my favorite...even though I enjoy the Milstein and Fournier interpretations, as well. I've been looking for the Shumsky recording, but had no luck, to this point.

I'm not as keyed into the classical circuit as I used to be (esp. violin) and, as much as I love those artists, I'd be interested to hear of anybody new (or from that past) on the circuit that's made a great recording of those pieces.

Any recommendations?

Replies (100)

October 10, 2006 at 03:45 AM · Julia Fischer, Hillary Hahn, Rachel Podger

October 10, 2006 at 03:56 AM · Enescu's recording is actually quite excellent! Sergiu Luca is good if you want to hear a VERY baroque-period-practice recording (though I personally cannot stand his Chaconne.)

October 10, 2006 at 04:17 AM · I'd highly recommend Ilya Gringolt's recording. I'm still eagerly waiting for him to record the rest (hint hint). In addition, you might want to check out Christian Tetzlaff's and Arthur Grumiaux's. Rachel Podger's is truly amazing as well.

October 10, 2006 at 04:39 AM · As far as the younger recordings go, the best I have heard is Tetzlaff's new recording. In fact it's now my favorite recording. It kind of seems as if he straddles the line between romantic dramaticism and the simpler beauty that baroque players aim for, using each in it's most fitting manner, and pulls it off perfectly.