Left thumb balance, without a shounder rest

September 23, 2006 at 03:13 AM · Having been using a Wolfe shoulder rest since I started playing two years ago, I have put it to one side and am experimenting without. This is because of a slight tendency to tighten in the shoulders and I'm not happy with the fixation to the upper body that can be encouraged by using a shoulder rest.

Despite having a long neck and had the shoulder-rest extended quite high, I am now managing surprisingly well with just a piece of chamois leather over my collar-bone where the violin sits, while my thumb balances the neck. I am gradually getting used to shifting without it wobbling.

I'm a teacher of the Alexander Technique so I'm very conscious of maintaining free, expansive poise for support.

I see from videos that Menuhin had his left thumb to the side of the neck and not underneath, while maintaining a significant gap between the knuckle of his forefinger and the neck. In otherwords, the instrument seemed to hover to the side of his thumb, without apparent support otherwise. If anyone can offer a tip or advice to how to achieve this, I'll be very grateful. Thanks, Noel

Replies (25)

September 23, 2006 at 03:31 AM · Try making a backward L with your left thumb, then set the neck of the violin on the bottom of the L between the two joints closest to the tip of the thumb. The thumb supports the neck without having to bring the tip underneath. The palm of your hand creates an arch, and the index finger may or may not touch the neck at its base joint, depending on the circumstance. This is not the same as resting the neck all the way down in the fleshy part of the V, nor is it the same as supporting the violin with the thumb's tip.

When you shift, you can easily slide the thumb up and down the neck while still supporting the instrument, all without any squeezing.