$400 bow really insane?

September 13, 2006 at 07:20 PM · I've been playing violin for three years now and am now starting to get more serious about it. My violin/bow set cost me $100. My violin I don't have a problem with, but my bow is another story.

It's horribly warped, for one thing. And as a result of 1) my not knowing how to take care of it and 2) letting other people touch it, there's a good two inches of gunk on the hair where I can't play. It's really getting frusterating.

I was thinking about the Coda Conservatory, but my mother thinks it's insane for me to want a $400 bow. She saws we'll look into a $20-$60 one.

Is it really crazy for someone who's only been playing for three years to want a bow like that? I feel like I'm being limited by my bow...but maybe it's just my technique.

Sorry for rambling, but I've been considering a new bow for a long time now and don't want to waste my money.

Replies (57)

September 13, 2006 at 07:26 PM · Don't limit yourself. You will notice a big difference in a $400 bow, and you'll probably like it a lot. Isn't that a good enough reason?

September 13, 2006 at 07:38 PM · if you're serious about playing, get the $400 bow.

September 13, 2006 at 07:43 PM · I want a coda bow too lol...

But If your violin and bow (case, etc.) only cost you $100 I would suggest getting a better violin also.

September 13, 2006 at 08:01 PM · I would have no problem getting the better bow first. When you feel ready for a new violin (and you will need one) you'll already have a good bow.

A $20-60 bow isn't worth purchasing - esp. once you've passed the initial 'trial' phase of getting a violin and deciding you want to continue on with the instrument.

The only other thing I can suggest is to save a bit more and invest in a new package.

September 13, 2006 at 08:13 PM · Yeah, the violin I'm pretty much fine with. It's not top-quality by any standard (the A string gets a bit whiny sometimes), but it works for me quite well.