Avoiding burnout from living situations

August 30, 2006 at 05:11 AM · I'm a freshman at Baldwin-Wallace Conservatory. As far as living goes, I'm in a quad room. As far as socialization goes, I like to have a nice medium. I like to be able to hang out with my friends pretty regularly to be able to keep my sanity, but I go insane if I'm around too many people for too long too often.

I've been in my dorm for almost a week now, and I'm already feeling the strain of being around too many people for too long. Whenever I get burn out of any type, I have absolutely no motivation to practice, even if it does mean alone time. Does anybody have any suggestions as to what to do to keep myself from getting burned out so quickly solely from my living situation?

Replies (11)

August 30, 2006 at 05:20 AM · I feel your frustration of having too much activity around you. I've been there.

For me, nothing is as restorative as the healing effect of nature. If I were in your shoes, I'd be seeking out parks and rural settings where I could spend alone time - not that one is ever truly "alone" in the wilderness.

August 30, 2006 at 05:53 AM · One of the hardest things about practicing for me is to actually start practicing. Once I'm practicing I'm pretty much in my own zone. Maybe you just need to force yourself to the practice room and then you will be good. Find a relaxing piece or etude to bring you away from the stress for a while. I like using Kruetzer #9 to relax and bring me into a near meditative state on a particularly stressful day.

August 30, 2006 at 06:11 AM · Kevin's suggestion is great. The same is true for me.

I would suggest, though, that you simply choose to spend less time in your room! You are in college now, obviously, and you must take responsibility for the way you use your time.