Purchasing an electric violin

August 19, 2006 at 05:49 AM · Hi, I'm new to the site. I've played the violin for about 4-5 years and havent played it in a few years and decided I want to get back in to it again. So I want to start new sort of by buying an electric violin. i'm not looking to spend lots of money on it since i'm not a proffessional at all and just looking for one to play around with and have fun with so i took a look on ebay.

I was looking at a couple for $100 which is right around my price range but didnt know if anyone had any experience with these and knows of the quality etc. I have never played an electric violin and i know very little about them so I'm hoping you guys can point me in the right direction. Are the ones on ebay that run for $100 give or take a few bucks worth it or are they junk? Thanks for your time, Grant

Replies (5)

August 19, 2006 at 04:42 PM · Compared to everything else, they're junk. You get what you pay for. On the other hand, with some tweaking they can do ok, and will probably fit the bill for a while. The electronics in them is the weakest point, from what I understand.

August 19, 2006 at 10:26 PM · I own a Yamaha SV-200, pricey but well worthwhile. The sound is excellent and for the extra money you can use your own shoulder rest with the instrument. Never had any problems with it even when traveling :)

August 20, 2006 at 04:28 AM · Research the pick-ups used for the electric violins. I'm pretty sure the Piezo pick-ups are horrible.

Barcus-Berry...mmm...my high school teacher said something about them (he also warned me of the piezo), but it was so long ago...

The Yamahas I think are pretty decent. In high school I bought a Jurgensmeyer electric violin off of eBay...just to have one that I could afford...it's okay...the tone is nothing like my other violins though.