Fender fv3 electric violin

August 8, 2006 at 06:28 PM · I have a fender fv 3 violin. I just recieved it. I like the violin but it's verry slippery, the bow sometimes slip off the strings while i'm playing, mostly when i'm really in the groove. It's annoying. If that would happen in the middle of a performance i would look really stupid. I'm only a beginner and i would like to hear if anyone else has got the fender fv3, and what you think of the violins sound and stuff. is there anything i can do to prevent the bow from slipping? They say it's a bluegrass violin allowing you to play chords more easily but after i started playing the fender i've had some trouble with my acustic one, for example when i play on the A string i hit the D string with the bow. The two violins are so different from one another that when i have played the electric for a while i can't play the acoustic one properly and the other way around. Weird.

Replies (10)

August 8, 2006 at 08:33 PM · Sean Makin the violinist in Yellowcard has that violin.

August 9, 2006 at 08:31 PM · i saw some videos of yellowcard and he played the fender fv1.. but i guess it's practicly the same violin, only the fv3 is the deluxe version.

August 12, 2006 at 02:37 PM · Are you using rosin enough on the bow? Or you may want to try better quality or stickier(dark) rosin.

Toni, just wanted to note, Sean Makin of Yellow Card doesn't play Fender, he uses Zeta. The Zeta Strados and Jazz "Modern" body. Although, they do resemble the Fender to some degree.

EDIT: I started searching for images to post in this thread of Mackin playing his Zeta(s), and came across a couple where he actually was playing on a Fender. I stand corrected. He does use the Zeta the majority of the time.

August 13, 2006 at 06:00 PM · well actually the rosin that came along smelled like plastic and didn't seem to be good quality at all. Otherwise i use the pirastro rosin. maybe i should rub in some of that instead.