any recital music pieces for beginner-intermediate level?

July 25, 2006 at 05:48 AM · Hi,

I've been playing violin almost for 5 years and one of my dream goal is having a recital within 2 years. My level of playing is about RCM grade 7 (just finished Suzuki vol.8) and since I'm preparing for my very first recital, I'd like to hear some suggestions of picking nice and manageable music pieces for my level. I have experices playing in orchestras and wedding gigs but not in solo recital. Do you think it is doable within 2 years? I started violin pretty late (when I was 19) and I don't think my skill is improving much, but only have a passion for playing music.

Replies (14)

July 25, 2006 at 11:20 AM · Violinist.com presents

TRACY KIM, Violinist

Some pianist, Pianist

Program:

Sonata #5 (Spring) ... Beethoven

Adagio ... Mozart

Rondo ... Mozart

Concerto ... Accolay

Gavotte from Partita #3 ... Bach

intermission

Meditation from "Thais" ... Massenet

Hungarian Dance #2 ... Brahms-Joachim

Vocalise ... Rachmaninoff

Praeludium and Allegro ... Kreisler

Czardas ... Monti

Slow encore: Traumerei (Schumann)

Fast encore: March Militaire Viennois (Kreisler)

July 25, 2006 at 01:33 PM · great Kevin!

why not Cantabile by Paganini too?After all no recital is complete without some Paganini

AN

July 26, 2006 at 05:22 AM · Maybe Copland's "Hoe-Down"?

July 26, 2006 at 11:38 AM · Greetings,

Martinu- Intermezzo.

A lovely work that I woudl guess is at exactly the right level for you and goes down really well with audiences.

Cheers,

Buri

July 27, 2006 at 09:18 PM · RCM level 7? Csardas and the Accolay are grade 8. and Praeludium and Allegro is grade 10.

July 27, 2006 at 10:13 PM · What is RCM and where can one find the grade levels for various pieces? I've been using the Shar Music catalog which gives ASTA ratings to find appropriate repertoire, but their scale is too coarse (only six grades).