Am I moving to quickly

July 15, 2006 at 08:14 PM · I am a begining violinist. But I am an advanced pianist. Is it normal to desire to play hard music on the violin? I'm so sick of the song you see in the Suzuki book. I've only been playing one year, but I am playing out of a medium to advanced book. And I am playing an advanced piece. But I am learning it. Am I moving to fast?

Replies (9)

July 15, 2006 at 09:23 PM · Too fast for who?

July 15, 2006 at 11:19 PM ·

July 16, 2006 at 05:14 AM · I progressed by playing stuff that was "too hard" for me.

Sure it took me a while, but the joy of overcoming obstacles and the problem solving process made me a better and happier player.

July 18, 2006 at 08:26 PM · that can be a hard one. i find that pianists make the leap to violin very well if they're suited to the instrument. however, the violin is never an easy instrument and you don't want to prematurely establish how good you 'should' be due to prior training on another instrument.

try this: tape record yourself playing your 'too hard' piece. then listen to yourself back to back with a famous recording artist. as an advanced pianist, listen to see if you'd be able to accompany yourself without problems. then listen for technique, and finally listen for musicality and elan.

no matter what level you play at, you should never feel like you're running to keep up with the piece. learning a new piece is like jogging: you go only a slight bit beyond your current ability to build endurance but if you find you are tensing up or are short of breath, you're working too hard.

when i was younger i used to revel in playing music that was 'too hard for me.' there was a part of me that wanted to show i'd made it by playing the bigshot pieces before my time. sort of like 'prodigy envy' i guess.