Electric violin strings

July 14, 2006 at 08:00 PM · Hi, My name is Neil, I have been lurking around the forums here quite a bit in the last weeks or so, this is my first post. I see many discussions about strings for acustic violins, but I don't see any for electric violins. so here are my two questions.

A) Do electric violins and acoustic violins use the same string types?

B) If they do not, does anyone have any recomendations for brand/type? I am new to violins. I just ordered my first violin (yes its electric, I know I'm beaking a rule, but I have roomates whom I do not wish to drive insane, as I drove my family insane when i practiced clarinet in my school days.) off of ebay, it is an electric and is missing some strings, so I am planning to replace all of them at once for even wear and tear. Any comments and or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Replies (5)

July 15, 2006 at 03:44 PM · My Zeta came from the factory here in Phoenix strung up with Dominants.

However, I'm going to try Eudoxas on it. I'll bet they'll work great in performance.

I also use only wooden bows on my Zeta. The better the bow, the better the sound.

July 17, 2006 at 02:57 AM · I think the the question on what strings to use is more of a accoustic violin issue rather than an electronic one. Accoustic violin respond quite differently with different strings in terms of tone colours. I don't think you can get much tone colours in electric violins irregardless of what strings you use.

I use Dominant strings for my electric violin because they do tend to last a bit.

July 17, 2006 at 08:44 PM · Unfortunately my violin is used and off of ebay, so the factory strings idea is somewhat nuked out of the question :P In response to the wooden bows part, any reccomendations for some cheap bows? Starving college student here.