student giving lessons to younger students

July 7, 2006 at 04:18 AM · I am interested in giving lessons to younger/beginner students. I am a student myself in college--I wouldn't say I am in the level of a conservatory musician, but in a non-conservatory world I think I would say I am fairly advanced and committed.

I gave a few lessons this summer (and still am) for free since I'm currently inexperienced as a teacher of any sort... (which was a good idea because first couple of lessons were a bit scary and full of surprises). I live in a neighborhood where a lot of kids playing the violin don't take lessons and develop bad habits throughout high school in school orchestras (mostly in the level of roughly suzuki book 2-4 by the time they're in high school...).

My question is, how much would be a reasonable cost to ask for (per half hour or 45 min) for those students?

Replies (7)

July 7, 2006 at 07:14 AM · The cheapest I could find at U of Washington was $30/hour. However, all the people I called had direct approval to instruct under our violin professor (who studied under Heifetz). Just get approved, then see what happens. Just know that people aren't going to pay you as much when then can get a well respected violin instructor for a few dollars more.

Good luck,

Daniel H

July 7, 2006 at 04:46 PM · As a high school senior I charged $20/hr, and gave 30 minute and 1 hour lessons.

July 7, 2006 at 04:53 PM · When I was in college, (I graduated 3 years ago) the going rate for an undergrad or masters student was $30 per hour, $15 per half hour. Doctoral students usually charged a bit more.

-Laura

July 10, 2006 at 08:59 AM · 30 EUR / hour, so approx. 30 $/ hour.

I had once a konzertmeister who took me 50 EUR per hour !!!

Best

AR

July 10, 2006 at 04:22 PM · You-Jin,