What should I have to teach on the first violin class?

June 2, 2006 at 09:50 PM · HI everyone

This monday I have to teach violin to two little girls both 7 years old.

They know nothing about music.This is my first time wotking with students who know nothing about music.

What do I have to teach n the first class and what do I have to do to teach thery and violin at a time without been boring?

MAny thanjs for your help and sorry for my english lol

-Keren

Replies (10)

June 2, 2006 at 10:16 PM · Well tuning the instrument is the most important thing. Learning to tune properly from the very beginning is very important so that your student will practice on in tune strings. Also I would suggest the Leopold Auer Graded Violin Course Book 1.

June 2, 2006 at 10:43 PM · Basic rhythm clapping

June 2, 2006 at 11:07 PM · Basic parts of the violin and bow (can't talk to them unless you all speak the same language). Then, go over correct posture and placement of the instrument.

June 3, 2006 at 04:03 AM · I'd probably save tuning the violin until quite a bit later for seven-year-olds. I teach them a foot chart, a song about the numbers of their fingers (Where is 1 mouse, and they go through the song tapping each finger), we sing Twinkle because it's the first "song" they'll learn, Parts of the violin, how to stand in rest position and a song about "rest position.".....

I recommend Suzuki training to help with teaching kids this young. I did the training starting 10 years ago, and it made me really comfortable teaching small children. I found the training itself to be fun, you take a class on each book and then do something like eight hours of observation of other teachers. The training also did not turn me into an audioanimatronic droid, I still teach my own way, especially with the more advanced and older students. I just have more ideas to use!

June 5, 2006 at 01:44 AM · Greetings,