Next Concerto???

May 14, 2006 at 03:04 AM · I'm looking for a good concerto to learn. I've recently played Bruch in G minor, and Wieniewski Polonaise D major. I'm looking for something between Bruch and Tchaikovsky that isn't the Mendelssohn. Any ideas?

Replies (69)

May 14, 2006 at 03:21 AM · Jeez, I've been ooching around that zone of the repertoire for about three or four years now. Between Bruch and Tchaik there is: Lalo, Wieniawski 2, Vieuxtemps 5, Mozart 4 and 5 (soooo much harder than they sound) Saint-Saens, Dvorak (actually that one is kind of a beast), maybe Glazunov, Khachaturian (I love that one!!), and about a zillion others I can't think of right now. Basically when you ask for something "in between Bruch and Tchaikovsky", you're asking about more or less the entire repertiore--Tchaik is one of the serious biggies, right there with Brahms and maybe the Paganinis. The biggest, most thoroughly out-of-reach (for me anyway) are Shostakovich #1, Sibelius, and Beethoven. I have such respect for those three mighty works that I dare not attempt them until I know I can do them justice. But now I'm off topic......

If you've just done Bruch, Wieniawski 2 might be a logical next step. If you want an adventure and can get your fingers around some odd Armenian tonality try the Khachaturian, it's so much fun. :)

MG

May 14, 2006 at 03:31 AM · -Lalo/Symphonie Espagnole

-Wieniawski/Concerto No. 2 in d minor

-Saint-Saens/Concerto No. 3 in B

-Brahms/Concerto

-Paganini/Concerto No. 1 in D

-Vieuxtemps/Concerto No. 4 and 5

-Barber/Concerto

-Glazunov/Concerto in a minor

and there are even more possibilities, like mentioned above

May 14, 2006 at 03:33 AM · Excuuuuuuse me?! Paganini #1 in with all those? That piece gave my best friend acute tendonitis!

Also Brahms is bigger than Tchaik IMHO. But maybe it just sounds that way cos it's in minor. ;)

MG

May 14, 2006 at 04:10 AM · Definitely do Brahms AFTER Tchaik.