Pain below the shoulder blades

May 9, 2006 at 04:07 AM · Hello,

I started playing in Dec '05. I started playing for 30 mins a day and worked up to 60 mins a day. I've been practicing daily this way since then.

Within the last month, I started experiencing a burning muscle sensation below the shoulder blades - but higher than lower back. It radiates from each side of the spine and goes up and outward. It feels like like muscle strain/burn. It typically starts 20 mins or so into practicing.

My teacher and I have stopped my progression until we can sort this problem out. I've been practicing pieces I already know - to reduce my overall strain.

So far, I've come up with a couple of possbile sources. I noticed that I had a tendency to push out my chest a bit (opposite of slouch) possibly to hold the violin up. Second, I noticed that my neck and head aren't really relaxed on the violin. I think I've fixed most of this, but alas the back strain continues.

I know many of you have in depth knowledge of violinist physiology (hehe), so I thought I'd ask.

Thanks for any help - in advance.

Bruno

Replies (4)

May 9, 2006 at 05:35 AM · Greetings,

I suggest you spend at least 20 minutes a day in the semi supine position. That is lie on your back with your knees at a 90 degre eangle and your feet flat on the floor. But a small book under your head and let your arm slie relaxed at your sides. As you lie like this you will feel gravity pulling all the back muscles down towards the earth and your whole body begins to relax. Even if it doiesn`t solve the problem it will improve your health.....

Try keeping in mind the maxim that `the instrument adapts to the body and not vice versa.` You must establish a natural and fre epsoition for your body and don`t change it when the violin is up. If you cannot support the insturment without changing your body then you need to rethink the set up of chin rest, shoulder rets and whatever.