Self Hypnosis

April 23, 2006 at 08:06 PM · A CD currently making the rounds of a few professional musicians I know is a CD called "Selfhypnosisformusicians." I borrowed a copy. Not surprisingly, it works. Performance anxiety, practicing woes, etc., it gets you less anxious and back on the practicing track.

Way back when, I majored in Air Science and Psychology at the Univ. of Tulsa. My Senior Thesis was on the medical aspects of hypnosis. It works, folks.

I hate plugging a product, but I think this one has a lot going for it. The principles behind each track on the CD are Psychologically sound. I like the warning that comes with it, "Don't listen to this while (whilst) driving a car. Sound advice.

Replies (30)

April 23, 2006 at 10:54 PM · A very appropiate warning. People get arrested here in england all the time for doing stuff while driving, such as applying make up, shaving, or eating breakfast for example. Playing the violin would just take the biscuit.

April 23, 2006 at 10:58 PM · Whoa, Ray, you went to TU? I live in Tulsa! :)

MG

April 24, 2006 at 12:23 AM · Hey, I did too, for 23 years!

April 24, 2006 at 02:58 AM · Holy cow, you guys. We TU folks are rare, it seams. Yes, I was there during the Glory Years of TU football. In the stands. Played in the Tulsa Philharmonic which, unfortunately, is kaput.

We'll have to talk sometime.

Ray

April 24, 2006 at 05:00 AM · I never lived in Tulsa, but I learned self hypnosis years ago for intractable pain. It worked for a while, but eventually the pain outstripped it. Nevertheless, it's a great relaxation technique, probably the same as (or very similar to) TM and the alpha response. How many of you know about or remember TM or the alpha response? They're considerably safer than LSD, marihuana, etc. It's very interesting how one can learn to operate on two levels at the same time. Really. If you're laughing as you read this, be assured that I'm laughing even harder.