What do you use to record your playing?

April 12, 2006 at 08:15 PM · I’ve not got to a point where I can play some intelligible songs and am starting to get interested trying to record a bit. I was wondering what you guys use to record your violin playing and manipulate it? I’d also like recommendations for beginners.

I’m a beginning Violin/Fiddle player and a neophyte recording engineer.

Thanks for your help and support.

Jason

Replies (11)

April 12, 2006 at 09:31 PM · I use Sonar from Cakewalk, though they also have Music Creator or Music Creator Pro software that would also work. For a microphone, I just use a Rode NT1-A that I got from bhphoto.com. That gets plugged into a "Firewire Solo" from M-Audio that has phantom power and a firewire interface back to the computer. I think you could go with a PCI card that would do the same, but I could potentially use this with a laptop at some point.

I'm also a beginner at both violin and recording, so that's just the set up that I've put together over the last couple of months.

April 12, 2006 at 10:06 PM · I use N-Track. It's a really good program and not too expensive (you can download it from their website)

April 12, 2006 at 11:01 PM · If you have a Mac computer you can use Quicktime or iTunes and record directly onto your computer using the internal mic. The sound is surprisingly good, and certainly good enough for practice purposes. We also bought a mini-disc recorder, which is more portable. It's not as easy to use, and the technology is a bit 1996, but it's good on the road. You can download the files to your computer. They cost about $300.