The frusturations of being tall

April 10, 2006 at 11:10 PM · Hey everyone,

My names David, and I started playing violin not to long ago. A lot of my time is spent practicing, but after about an hour I have to quit because of pain in my lower back, and sometimes neck. I have a Wolf Forte-Secondo should rest and put a handkerchief on the chinrest to keep it from sliding. I am unreasonably tall (6'6) and have a long neck. I had my shoulder rest real low at first and would try to play with it, but too much pressure had to be applied to keep it up which caused my teeth to grit. So I decided to raise it, and everything was working until after about an hour I would get sharp pains in my lower back. I have gotten my music stand to go up high enough from putting it on top of tall furniture, but it still seems that my back bothers me. I make sure to keep it straight when I play, and stand up. I do catch myself standing akwardly, and not putting my weight on the left foot. Could this be a problem? Please help, because I would like to practice at least 2 1/2 hours a day without having to stop because of pain.

Replies (18)

April 11, 2006 at 12:15 AM · Welcome to the club, my friend. I don't know how old you are, but lower back pains with people younger than I are usually caused by weak abdominal muscles and/or bad posture.

April 11, 2006 at 12:31 AM · There have been other tall players that were great despite being very tall (Szigeti, Erick Friedman, etc). You have to try to find a teacher that can work on tension with you, and find the right position of the instrument for you.

April 11, 2006 at 12:35 AM · Tried practicing sitting down? I'm 6'5" and don't have any problems...are you tense? Are you holding your instrument correctly? There's a lot to take into consideration