Khachaturian Violin Concerto

April 8, 2006 at 07:56 PM · Hi, everybody,

I have been playing the violin for almost twelve years. Recently, I began learning the Khachaturian violin concerto. A couple of weeks after having started to learn it (for a future audition), however, my teacher informs me that this concerto is a terrible choice for auditions. She notes that according to Juilliard adjudicators, the piece is too repetitive and "boring." How on earth can this be true? The Khachaturian is such a beautiful concerto. It doesn't have that much substance to it in comparison to the canon of violin concertos, but why isn't it a suitable piece for an audition?

I'm really sad that I had to discontinue learning the piece. I could have continued, but I have so much on my hands in terms of violin now. My teacher and I decided to learn the Brahms concerto to replace the Khachaturian. I suppose the Brahms is a superior audition piece in many ways...

Replies (99)

April 8, 2006 at 08:30 PM · I'm with you...I love the Khachaturian! But I could see why your teacher would prefer the Brahms for an audition. Brahms is a much more sophisticated piece both technically and musically. It takes a lot of maturity to pull off. If this is something that your teacher feels you are ready for, then go for it! Maybe you can go back to Khacaturian later...it is such a fantastic piece. :)

April 9, 2006 at 01:54 AM · Yeah, I love the Khachaturian... I've always wondered why so few people play it. Exactly how difficult is it? Is it really on the same level as Brahms?

Julie, have a great time with Brahms. It's such a beautiful concerto (it's my favorite), and you can always go back to learn Khachaturian some other time. Good luck!