General Equipment Questions

April 5, 2006 at 07:19 AM · Hey guys,

I have been playing the violin for over 9 years now, and progressed to the point of concert master in both middle school and high school. Although I've played so long, I've been only playing on Dominant's all my life -- besides the one time I had temporarily installed an Obligato E string after having mine break. Another string changing is coming up, and I would appreciate any recommendations from the more experienced.

I have read all the threads and reviews of a variety of strings, but it still can't help me decide what I need. The violin I plan to install it on is fairly new, so it seems like Eudoxa's are not the way to go. And since I don't play in a regular orchestra, nor plan to solo anytime soon, I don't need expensive strings that wear out quickly, yet sound is still important to me. I've heard good things of Corelli's Alliance, Pirastro's Evah Pirazzis, and the Pirastro Eudoxas (although it is gut). Dominant has been sounding awfully shrill lately. A rich full sound is desired. Any recommendations?

Also, how much would a new bridge/soundpost alter the sound of my violin? Anything to help the overall sound quality of my playing.

And lastly, my form really sucks. I was concert master, but that's not saying much for terrible orchestras. Would a rigid shoulder pad like the Bon Musica help with poster? Currently, I use the Kun shoulder pad and I have a tendency to rest the shoulder pad on my chest that give the violin an angle downwards and elbow in my side, which is BAD.

Thanks guys,

Dan

Replies (7)

April 5, 2006 at 12:40 PM · Reading all the previous string threads can be a bit confusing. No real consensus as to which string is the best. As many suggest, try a Jagar E or a Pirastro Gold E with a set of Dominant. This may improve the overall sound. A set of Evah's may brighten and strengthen the sound also.