How am I doing?

March 23, 2006 at 05:41 AM · Hi violinist.com. I just registered today, and I have a few questions on my progress as a violinist. I have been playing for about 3 years now, with a private teacher, and I am 14 years of age (freshman in high school). I've switched teachers about thrice, and am most recently with a teacher from the Minnesota Orchestra. In the two years, or so, that I have studied with my current teacher, I have learned most of the basics: Seitz Concertos, Vivaldi in a minor, Accolay in a minor (1), Polish Dance, La Folia, Bach Double, and some other songs here and there in the Suzuki books. I'm currently about to start the Bach 1 in a minor, and I'm wondering how I'm doing for the time I have played and the pieces I have progressed through. Am I taking a step back by playing Accolay almost a year ago, and then Bach in a now? Make no mistake, my teacher is very picky about my sound quality, bowing, intonation, so I have spent maybe more time than I should have on a couple of songs. My peers are all playing Mozart, Viotti, Kreisler, and I feel "left behind", even though I believe my foundational skills are much more superior. I really, really LOVE the Mendelsson (bad spelling!), I listen to it atleast four times a day, and I'm wondering also how long until I could play this song? Last thing, what concerto should I play after Bach in a minor, and can anyone reccomend a good shoulder rest to replace my aging Kun? I was looking at The Maestro offered by Shar, or the Mach One.

Replies (19)

March 23, 2006 at 07:09 AM · It's pretty impossible to tell where you're at by descriptions, but I do have one word of advice:

Try not to listen to the Mendelssohn so much because once you're ready to play it, you'll be sick of it and it won't be as much fun as you would expect. Same with any other piece of music.

March 23, 2006 at 09:57 AM · Hi!!