Recovering from Injury: How to Begin ... Again

March 20, 2006 at 03:30 AM · I am a 17-year-old student violinist living in a small town in upstate NY. When I was thirteen I developed pain in my left wrist while playing the violin -- particularly in the higher positions and on the G string -- that doctors had called chronic tendonitis and/or a repetitive motion injury. My playing ability was severely curtailed due to the fact that I could not practice more than a half hour of relatively intermediate material without severe pain.

However, although nothing about my activities seems to have changed, my wrist is now not hurting at all when I play. I am not sure why this is but I am very grateful for it. Unfortunately, I am at a loss as to what to do now. I want to be a violinist -- major in violin performance, go to a reputable school, study with a teacher that can help me to be the kind of musician I've hoped to be, etc. but I fear I'm very far behind where I should be for these kinds of aspirations. Although I feel that I am not lacking in musicality, my technical ability is much lacking. Before I quit taking lessons altogether two years ago, I was working on Mozart's Concerto 4, and this is about the technical level I feel comfortable with, although even my rendition of this is somewhat messy. My sightreading ability is poor, and living where I do, I have never been able to associate with other serious student musicians.

I have an advantage in that I am ahead in school -- I will be graduating with a general studies degree from a local community college. At the end of May I will be finished with my studies there. I am not planning on attending college in the Fall of 2006 because I wasn't prepared to audition anywhere. I feel like I need to spend some time catching up, as much as I can, in order to be competitive for auditions in the Winter of 2007.