Violin or Viola!?!? Advice Needed

March 5, 2006 at 06:37 AM · Hello everyone. I am a sophomore in high school and positive I want to do music in college at the conservatory level. One problem: I love both the violin and the viola and cannot decide which one I want to give up and which one I want to commit to for life. I just played Haydn's C Major violin concerto for a state contest, and am really looking forward to doing a little Mozart and then getting into some of the romantic concertos. This being said, I absolutley fell in love with the viola last summer at Interlochen. I really like the whole harmony aspect of music. The only thing scaring me away from the viola is the repertoire. Do violists get the same juicy romantic literature that violinists get?

If anyone has been in this situation and relates to my dilema, I would deeply appreciate some guidance/advice of any kind.

Thanks a lot!

-James

Replies (8)

March 5, 2006 at 05:38 PM · Hi,

I'm in just about the same delima. I have been playing violin 6 years, piano for 2 years(Extremely good and fast learner), and now I want to play cello. I have a good knowlegde of music from all sides. So far the only conclusion I have come to is keep going with what instrument you have the most exp. for a career, and keep the rest for fun and hobby. Sorry it's not the best answer, but it is a very hard question to answer.

March 5, 2006 at 08:06 PM · I'm an amateur (not a professional musician), an older adult, and a violinist (never played the viola). My impression (which may not be accurate) is that the solo viola literature is not nearly as extensive as the violin, but if you want to be in demand for the rest of your life, and if you're a good musician, the viola is your instrument.

March 5, 2006 at 08:24 PM · "Do violists get the same juicy romantic literature that violinists get?"