Melbourne Conservatory of Music

February 28, 2006 at 06:46 PM · This message goes to anyone who has auditioned for the Melbourne Conservatory of Music (which i pressume is not many of you) and this especially goes to Fiona Doig (You don't know me but I do the MYM Summer School camps every year and I know of you and how your in Melb Con now lol):

Im planning to audition for the Melb Conservatory this year and I WANT TO KNOW EVERYTHING about wat happens in the audition and wat they ask you in the audition? (i.e sight reading difficulty? theory q's? aural test? scales? general q's about urself? who takes it?[Willian Hennessy? or others as well?])

???

Cheers,

Kas

Replies (7)

March 1, 2006 at 10:01 AM · Someone Respond Please!!!!! :(

March 2, 2006 at 01:06 AM · I studied at Melbourne University for some time in the 1990's. I studied Eng/Sci but was actively involved in a number of groups involving students and graduates of the music faculty. I played with them here in Melb and abroad many times. Some of the students played well, some were very average, and some I worked with were quite bad. If you are a resonable player, and your VCE marks are in order, I wouldn't stress too much about the audition.

What level are you playing at? (AMEB). What pieces are you going to audition with? I completed both A.Mus.A and L.mus.A and when I did this, the only students of my teacher who I remember failing were music students at Melbourne. They went on the graduate comfortably.

March 2, 2006 at 05:46 AM · I am studying for my a.mus which the exam will be in Novemeber. Im playing Concerto No. 9 be De Beriot, Romanza Andaluza by Sarasate, Summer from the four seasons and Entertainer by joplin.

When you say VCE results, do you mean in general (ENTER) or the score for music solo performane?

March 2, 2006 at 09:12 AM · I think they will look at both ENTER and your music score. Obviously the course is more than just playing (music history, theory, composition...)