Was Paganini self taught?

February 22, 2006 at 05:30 AM · I heard that Paganini was entirely Self taught as a violinist

True, or not?

Replies (64)

February 22, 2006 at 06:37 AM · No. His father started him off and then he had I think a couple more teachers but when he went to a person who was supposed to be a great teacher and well known violinist, he said he had nothing to teach him. He was pretty young at this time too.

February 22, 2006 at 02:12 PM · Nope. Paganini first recieved violin lessons from his father. After that, he was sent to study with one of the best teachers in Genoa. His father was very hard on him and locked him in his room for long hours, often starving him until he practiced for 15 hours. His mother claimed that the angels from the heavens spoke to her in a dream and that they said that her son would be a violinist, and not just any violinist, but the best. This Teresa Paganini often told her son to confort him.

I belive that his teacher in Genoa set him to work on composing his first ever music and writing it down. This teacher often thought young Paganini's compositions were much to difficult for anyone to play and asked him why he would compose something of such difficulty. "Then I'll be the only one who could play it."

When Paganini was in his early teens, his current teacher could teach him no more and he set off to Parma, Italy to study. The teachers there told him they could do no more for him; He was too good already.

The rest is history. :P He wins the Guarnerius, goes on tour, escapes from his father, impresses the public with his tricks, is called the Devil, doesn't practice at all after the age of 30, yadayadaya. You get the point.

There is a movie "The Magic Bow" that followed the story of Paganini's life if you're interested. There are however, some misconceptions.

February 22, 2006 at 06:27 PM · This whole 'not practicing' thing is is a very common boast, take it with a pinch of prunes :-D