How to irish fiddle?

January 24, 2006 at 07:22 AM · Hi,

So i've started an irish band in an attempt to broaden my violin playing. I'm classically trained and have no idea how to mimic the proper irish fiddling style.

Any tips, advice?

Replies (20)

January 24, 2006 at 08:05 AM · Listen to lots of recordings! Go to fiddle shows, etc... :)

I love Celtic fiddle! Admittedly, my background is more on the Scottish side, but both have their similarities. Some basics: Gotta be lose in the right wrist - get to know trad. bowing styles/effects, gotta be in tune (so much is based on arpeggios/modal scales), get to know some of the traditional tunes/licks, get to know how to ornament notes traditionally...

Mostly, I started with listening (my family's background includes Scottish and Swedish), and getting some books with trad. tunes. These often had some of the ornamentations and bowing styles written down, which gives you a starting place of ideas of how to go about it...

Er, sorry, it's late; that's all I can think of right now. Hope it helps!

Have loads of fun!!