Funny/disastrous things that have happened in a live performace.

January 19, 2006 at 07:17 PM · What are the strangest things that have happened to you or people you know in a live concert performace. I want to here it all.

Replies (100)

January 19, 2006 at 07:22 PM · I started playing violin at age 8, and my teacher encouraged me to play in a local music festival not long after I'd started playing. Just before I got up in front to play, she told me that I should bow before I started. Well, I got up there, put the violin under my chin, remembered I was supposed to bow first--and did, firmly gripping the instrument between shoulder and chin! I didn't understand until I was quite a bit older why all the parents were snickering... ;-)

January 19, 2006 at 07:29 PM · Well, I don't know if that's such a good one but anyway, let's go with it...I was playing Mendelssohn Concerto with orchestra in Karlsruhe. I started the concerto, everything was fine, and then the orchestra took over. I get ready to play the second page and notice that my e string just broke...I turn to the concertmaster with desperate eyes and he gives me his violin. I keep on playing on his violin which happened to be a pretty good one too, and go on. By the end of the second movement his A String broke...I've never seen that in my life. I finished with the assistant concertmaster's violin and an orchestra missing two strings...

January 19, 2006 at 07:34 PM · My funniest memory was from playing in a community orchestra. The concertmaster used to get very excited and do these really funny overly flamboyant swooping gestures on upbows. One time we were playing an oratorio (don't remember which one) and she threw her bow up into the air. It flew accross the stage. She then crawled accross the stage to pick it up. We were all trying so hard not to laugh, we could barely play and this was during a performance! Not the finest moment of professionalism, but what a wonderful memory.