teaching vibrato and positions

January 11, 2006 at 07:14 AM · I have been teaching violin full time for about 6 months now, mostly beginners. The mother of one of my students is anxious for her daughter to learn positions and vibrato. The daughter previously studied suziki method and is in book 2. She just moved up to a 3/4 size violin and is not yet playing in tune consistantly. She also does not pay attention to details in the music ie; often misses accidentals, dynamics etc. even when reminded many times. I don't think she should learn positions or vibrato til she can play in tune in 1st position. When is it appropriate to teach either positions or vibrato?

Thanks for your input

Judy

Replies (36)

January 11, 2006 at 10:09 AM · Hi Judy,

to me, playing in tune is something that haunts every string player regardless of the position - even open strings cannot be left aside. Yehudi Menuhin even suggested to start children off at third position - easier on the elbow and it takes away the "fear factor" of leaving comfortable, familiar first position and go up into the icy realms of third, fifth - or, dare I mention it, maybe even second or fourth position.

Vibrato is sometimes misused to hide false intonation, therefore it should be discouraged as long as intonation is a problem. Along with all other "interpretative gimmicks", like tempo rubato, slides, blue notes etc., it should be the icing on the cake, not the basic ingredient. If it comes naturally, it's ok, but I wouldn't rush it - probably a beginner needs help in relaxing more than anything else.

Bye, Juergen

January 14, 2006 at 04:51 AM · Hi Judy,