Teaching Twinkle

January 6, 2006 at 08:18 PM · Hi -

I was certified in June to teach Suzuki book 1...I've been teaching it since, and enjoying it. However, all my students have a LOT of trouble with the 2nd variation of Twinkle, the one with the eight notes and eighth rest. Never the other variations. I need suggestions on how to teach this one. I use words, like Ronda Cole suggests, but some of my students still can't play it -- it's a disaster. Any ideas?

Thanks!

Replies (16)

January 7, 2006 at 01:52 AM · I am currently a student and have been teaching beginning violin (suzuki-influenced teaching) at my university for 3 years now...anyhew-just so you know where i'm coming from...

different ways that i've learned from my teacher, Dr. Hersh (Suzuki TT) and from experience:

Visually:

Four Boxes, three of them filled in. For example:

xxox

Aurally:

I use the words: Lolli-pop

but also know of ice cream, cone

in use of these words you can have students [slurp/lick/etc] on the rest.

so you get: lol-li-(lick)-pop

My teacher uses: Ice cream, more...

varying the words of the food, so that students know when the notes change.

Kinesthetic/tactile

-Patching/patting/and clapping is very helpful for teaching rhythms. Students show the rest by moving the arms apart (if clapping). This reinforces steady beat.

-We also do a lot of preparatory bowing work that includes arm scrubbing activities (McCall Suzuki Group lessons bk), patty-cake with partners, handshaking (in the direction of the bow), etc.

The partners are good because the student can assess their own behavior. Partnering up with parents or teachers reinforces the correct behavior (if you've taught your parents correctly).

-Remember that students should be doing a lot of listening of the Suzuki Rep, and the teacher can construct listening activities for parent and child that incorporates movement, etc.