Humoresque by Dvorak

March 15, 2005 at 05:59 PM · Hi

I am currently studying the Humoresque by Dvorak, and I have noticed that there are hundreds of different arrangements of it, including editions for violin in several keys, with several different variations, and arrangements on other instruments.

I am interested to know:

a) For what instrument was it originally written?

b) What key was it originally in?

c) Who wrote all the variations and arrangements? Dvorak?

d) Why are there so many variations and arrangements? Did Dvorak intend for this, or did he maybe write the tune as a general tune to be used by other composers to arrange?

I'd appreciate any help greatly.

Does anybody have a favourite recording of it? I rather like the Perlman/Yo-Yo Ma violin-cello arrangement with orchestra. And the Heifetz version.

Replies (43)

March 15, 2005 at 06:17 PM · I like the recording by Christian Ferras (sp?). I'm not sure if it's available anymore. I think the piece was originally written for piano, but I may be wrong.

Sorry.

March 15, 2005 at 08:07 PM · thats interesting i didnt know that

there is a clip on the art of violin with elman playing this

for recordings i like grumiaux on the cd favorite violin encores

...there are many other fine recordings available

March 15, 2005 at 08:33 PM · It was one of Elman's most famous performance pieces, and the clip on the Art of the VIolin mentioned above is great.

March 15, 2005 at 09:54 PM · listen to josef hassid's version

he does some double stops that i've never heard anyone else do

overall, it's just amazing like everything else he played

March 15, 2005 at 11:59 PM · I second Hassid.

March 16, 2005 at 12:02 PM · It is No.7 of the 8 humoresques op.101 composed for piano. Kreisler transcribed it to violin and piano, and recorded it 4 times, one playing the original on piano (yes, he was also a fine pianist).