Customs around shopping for old violins...

March 4, 2005 at 06:39 AM · Please forgive this question if it seems naive, but I am an adult student, who has only been practicing for 6 weeks or so.

Are there some standards procedures/protocal for shopping for violins particularly older ones. I've notice there are violins of all ranges from $500 to $30,000 at the local Violin shop. With many in the $2,000 to $8,000 range.

The other day I noticed some one purchase a violin and the merchant automatically took %6 off with out prompting.

Is haggling a general or accpeted practice in Violin Shopping? If so what's the general range of deviation from list price?

Thanks,

Jason

Replies (13)

March 4, 2005 at 06:46 AM · I always haggle for bigger purchases at locally owned stores.

March 4, 2005 at 01:04 PM · When you haggle, what do are usually able to win in terms of a discount? 5%? 10%? 20%?

For example if a violin is offered at $6,000, might I expect to pay $6,000? $5,800? $5,500 or even $5,000?

Thanks is advance for your time and thoughts.

Jason