Vibrato Help!

December 20, 2004 at 06:13 PM · I'm so frustrated right now! I am 13 and I have been playing for 6 years. I'm at the level of Wieniawski concerto #2. But the sad part is I still can't really do vibrato well.

I have tried a variety of methods. I used the book "Viva Vibrato" and I have also tried doing vibrato using a metronome. But it's still not fast enough or strong enough. It's especially hard on the pinky finger, because my pinky is weaker than the other fingers.

Maybe it's because I don't relax enough. How do I get my hand to relax? How do I make my vibrato faster? My teacher sometimes says that he can't even tell that I'm doing vibrato. Do you have any suggestions?

Replies (17)

December 20, 2004 at 06:46 PM · hmm, i'd try this. Practice vibrato using so little left hand vibrato that the notes dont even form. Keeping your whole arm totally relaxed and breathing do slow motion vibrato and gradually speed it up. the left hand pressure is very important ot give a brilliant vibrato. Also you dont do a nice fast vibrato by tensing, that will give it that tight laser gun sound.

December 20, 2004 at 06:46 PM · Hi Grace:

Not to sound offensive, but... a good teacher helps you to learn things and analyzes what problem is occurring and teaches you how to overcome it. That said...

Vibrato is the act of hitting a pitch and going under the pitch and coming back to it. If you drew a sine wave, the top of all the waves would be the pitch. So it becomes like a "knocking" sound on the pitch. Careful of vibrato that goes above and below the pitch because you will just sound out of tune and somewhat like you've been plugged into an electric socket. ;-)