BAM cases

December 16, 2004 at 06:34 PM · Hey everyone...

I'm looking for a new violin case. I had been interested in the Bam Liberty, but I heard (from Gengakki) that those cases don't offer as much protection as say a Bobelock or something. ALso, of course, the Bobelock has the hygrometer/humistat etc etc...Anyone had experience with the Bam cases? Suggestions? Touching stories? Anything?

Replies (67)

December 16, 2004 at 06:53 PM · I have a Bobelock which I like. They are relatively inexpensive and sturdy. Shar has some products (e.g., STretto and something a bit cheaper) that permit you to add hygrometer/humidifier to any case. I have no experience with Bam cases. It might help us if you told us what in particular you are looking for and what your price range is. Everyone hear probably has a different kind of case and would be happy to advise you about good/bad points.

December 16, 2004 at 07:54 PM · Bams do not stay upright when opened horizontally.

Carl.

December 16, 2004 at 09:14 PM · No experience with Bam, but I second liking Bobelock. Mine feels rock solid. I have had it for almost 3 years now, and would unhesitatingly buy one again.

December 17, 2004 at 12:21 AM · It really depends on the specific model you're looking at.

I formerly had a bobelock which was really light-weight--maybe it's called featherlight? Anyway, the fabric tore right after I bought it. Then the hinges collapsed. It lasted for less than a few months.

On the other hand, I've had a bam artisto for a year now. It hasn't sustained any damage, despite being lugged around the subway and various gigs. Furthermore, my violin has been well-protected in its case, and I have no nicks or even open seams to complain about. Maybe there's something to their claim that the case helps gaurd against sudden weather changes.