How do I learn gypsy (lautari) fiddle?

December 8, 2004 at 07:06 AM · Hi, I need some advice about playing gypsy (lautari) fiddle.

If there's anyone out there who knows about traditional ornamentation I would love to know how to begin learning it...

I'm aware that it isn't just trills as I'm a professional trad Irish fiddler (bitten by the Balkan and Gypsy bug!) and have a fair idea of Irish rolls, cuts, crans etc.

Are there any books, CDs, workshops, even websites, which demonstrate/teach this amazing style? My favourite balkan band is Taraf de Haidouks, they're virtuoso! and I also love Klezmer fiddle (Alicia Svigal) and would also really like to know how to play krekhts.

Any comments, advice, pointers much appreciated!

Laura

Replies (15)

December 8, 2004 at 08:33 PM · Look into Balkan Music Camp. There's one on each coast every summer. They do gypsy, klezmer, east european, everything.

December 9, 2004 at 01:05 AM ·

December 9, 2004 at 01:07 AM · Laura, beside of listening a lot of Gypsy music, think about specific modes which make this music named 'Gypsy'. The main modes are natural minor, harmonic minor and 'double harmonic minor'(or there are two augmented seconds in a scale made by raising 4th and 7th step.) So, make scales in keys you wish to use and practice them. But, what's interesting: in Gypsy music you (almost) will not find modulations to other keys, so try to 'keep' same tonality. I mean, the harmony should not lead a solo part to changing keys, but temporary; so the common harmony is like this (a minor):

1)a-d-G-C-a-d-E7-a

2)d-a-E(7)-a

3)E-a-E-a...d-a-E(7)-a

Sometimes we can see a mode like this (a-minor):

e-f-g#-a-b-c-d#-e

It has a 'color' of dominant, or you feel like playing in E-major, but the real tonic is 'a'. It fits mostly to slow parts of a song, and make a song quite related to jewish music.

Also, try to use wide range of vibration and make your violin sounded like electric.