Yehudi Menuhin shoulder rest

December 6, 2004 at 06:54 AM · Hello. When I recently started playing again after a 15-20 year hiatus, I discovered that my Yehudi Menuhin shoulder rest was in need of repair. I noticed a link in the discussion of jaw pain to a site that sold "Menuhin" shoulder rests, but upon ordering the rest I found that it is NOT the original Menuhin shoulder rest, but is a Chinese-made knockoff which is not adjustable and is higher than the original. This newer version says "Anton Breton" and "made in China" on it.

The newer version does not work for me like the orginal Yehudi Menuhin rest does. Does anyone out there know where I can get a real Yehudi Menuhin shoulder rest? Are they (I'm afraid) not made anymore? If they are not made anymore, could someone recommend a shoulder rest which is closer to the original Menuhin rest in form and function than the Chinese version? Thanks for your help.

Replies (6)

December 7, 2004 at 01:22 AM · This one looks close.

http://www.sharmusic.com/moreinfogroupviolin.asp?t1=1336GM

December 7, 2004 at 02:59 AM · Ted,I use Menuhin shoulder rest, and this year I was going to order another one, just because my daughter lost her 'Wolf'. Unfortunately, there is no more 'Menuhin' in Sharmusic. com In the catalogue I found 'The Maestro', a new brand of Menuhin style. It is cheep and doesn't attract my attention. Anyway, maybe try to contact this store (Sam Li gave you the site) and ask... The e-mail is sharserv@sharmusic.com

Phone #1-800-248-7427

December 7, 2004 at 03:38 AM · Greetings,

Menuhin shoulder rest in peace?

Cheers,

Buri

December 7, 2004 at 04:54 PM · All shoulders without a rest might be soon in peace.LOL

October 17, 2011 at 02:47 PM ·

Hi Ted,