Is it really worth it? / Performance anxiety

November 3, 2004 at 06:36 AM · I am a sophomore in college, and a violin performance major, and I have HUGE problems with performance anxiety. When I have to perform, I become utterly panic-stricken, and feel utterly humiliated, and the only thing I can focus on is, "Dear God, get me out of here!!" And since I am in survival mode, my playing sounds like crap, and I end up totally disappointed. So, how I can get past this? Does anyone else have problems with this kind of thing?

Also, I go through periods where I think about how much work and effort I've put into the violin, and how much I have to show for it (not much), and wonder if it's all really worth the effort. As a performance major, I really have no life other than practicing. So my question for those of you who have already been through the process is: Is it worth it?

Replies (40)

November 3, 2004 at 07:35 AM · It is worth it. And always will be as long as you are playing for the right reasons, whatever those may be for you. Play because you love it (even if sometimes you feel the opposite). As the violin is another vehicle for your communication, so will it convey what you are feeling if you allow it. In an ideal playing world, wrong notes shouldn't have anything to do with how you feel about playing. We all make mistakes and even if your current difficulty is that you've reached a plateau, stick with it and weather the tough practicing. You'll be glad you did. But don't beat yourself over the head about your playing. Ok, before I gag at sounding like a bad rendition of a Baz Lurhman (sp?) monologue, check out the Discussion archive topic on "Inner Judges"

November 3, 2004 at 08:46 AM · It is certainly worth it. Is this anxiety you feel under the spotlight in general or is it uniquely caused by your playing?

Duluth, MN! I know someone who's going to UMN there (freshman tho).

November 3, 2004 at 09:08 AM · Greetings,