Best Violin Concerto????

October 30, 2004 at 05:03 AM · I am a freshman in HS...and there is a concerto competition at our school. It is open to seniors and I have been wondering about it. I guess its better to worry about it earlier than later.

I need some suggestions on what should be some good Concertos. In the Past 2 years, violin winners have played Tchaiv., Vieuxtemps, and Beethoven. There are a total of about 6 winners and it is almost always guaranteed that at least 2 violins will probably play.

As I am finishing up Zigeunerweisen, I was wondering what i should play after this piece. i want to do a serious concerto...maybe Vieuxtemps No.5, or even Sibelius.

The senior Concerto Competition is in 4 years but i want to prepare for it now. Any suggestions on which concerto would be good to do?

Some concertos i was thinking of are:

Sibelius

Dvorak (i have self taught myself almost the whole 1st and 3rd movements)

Shostakovich

Tchaivkosky (i have self taught myself almost the whole 1st movement)

What are your ideas??? And what did you guys play for your big "senior" concert or just your most important concert?

Replies (56)

October 30, 2004 at 06:03 AM · I think you should play Sibelius. I'm a sophomore now but I'm also going to try to do the senior concerto in my school. Don't know what I'll play, but one idea which I think is really good is playing the Brahms double with my twin brother who obviously plays cello. The problem is the orchestra part is hard.

October 30, 2004 at 06:09 AM · What about Brahms? I LOVE Brahms. It's a great concerto.

October 30, 2004 at 06:14 AM · Patrick, if your violin has rich and powerful sound, choose Schostakovich 1st, or 2nd concerto. Because Schostakovich is in your list, I believe you understand this music and it fits your individuality. Vieuxtemps #5 is great too (one of my favorite concertoes).

October 30, 2004 at 05:08 PM · some good choices. i recomend bejamin britten's concerto, or the walton