paganini caprice question

August 23, 2004 at 04:11 AM · Hi, i'm a high school student and though i have a private teacher, i usually do the majority of my learning by myself because i've surpassed the teacher in many aspects. i've been learning the caprices and i am so confused about how to achieve certain chords. for example, in op. 24, variation 6, right after the first repeat, there's a passage of double stops that seem almost impossible to stretch your fingers that far to play. a and c#..then b and d using 1 and 4..how is that possible? since i don't have a teacher doing this with me i just don't know what to do. maybe do it on the g and d or d and a? iii dunno. any help appreciated.

also, is there a certain caprice that is ideal to start with? i've been concentrating on op.1 because it's the first one :p

Replies (18)

August 23, 2004 at 10:15 AM · These are tenths - you simply have to stretch your fingers further than ever before!

Don't force your fingers to stretch that far - try and play some scales with tenths before launching into the Paganini. Just do it really slowly and gradually and eventually your fingers will be able to cope with tenths easily.

August 23, 2004 at 02:28 PM · From what I've read from this board from the past, when playing tenths, don't try to stretch your little finger! Instead, stretch back your first finger. Consult your teacher or someone else first though...I've never really played tenths or Paganini.

August 23, 2004 at 03:50 PM · It took me a long time to be able to play tenths without tensing up or hurting my hands. As has been said, don't overdo it and don't just launch into them. I would highly recomend doing them broken before doing them solid. You'll get them eventually, it just takes time, and let it take time, don't run the risk of hurting your hands. The stretching your 4th down to your 1st finger is a really good tip. That opens up your hand more and makes larger stretches much easier.