Violin and Viola

August 18, 2004 at 05:06 AM · When would it be a good time for a violinist to start viola?

I am 14 years old and I have been playing violin for about 2 years. I don't have any urge ever to give the violin up. However, I am hoping to be a string teacher for middle schoolers in the future. Is

there a bad time to start

viola, would it be too soon because they are close?

I have already had some experience in piano (my first instrument) and a couple months on flute.

Replies (5)

August 18, 2004 at 08:36 AM · Hi,
Lauren, there's two main aspects to starting the viola that make it different from the violin

• a viola is bigger and physically harder to play
  • the music is written in a different key
You can learn to play in the alto clef right away, just get some music written in it (there's a special method for those who wont to change by Hans-Heinz Bütigkofer). If you play it on the violin, it'll just sound a fifth higher - that's the easy part.

The harder part is that distances on the viola are farther, the strings are thicker and less responsive, therefore you need a modified left hand technique (fingerings etc.). On the viola, bowing requires a lot more attention. Yehudi Menuhin (cf. below) recommends that all violinist should practise their whole repertoire on a viola with a viola bow, thus gaining a reserve of strength and flexibility. After switching back, I'm always amazed how much easier (speaking physically, not technically) the violin is to play. Don't be afraid that you'll play out of tune - like playing on different violins, it will only sharpen your intonation precision.

For more information, look up the Yehudi Menuhin Music Guide Violin & Viola (co-authored by William Primrose), the Art of String Quartet Playing by David Blum and the Guarneri Quartet or check out the viola internet links. A good place to start might be the Amateur Chamber Music Players, Inc. link page for individual instruments.