Inderal Use

August 16, 2004 at 05:34 AM · Dear Friends:

I'm writing a newspaper story about musicians' use of beta blockers. I would like to hear from musicians who have used Inderal for concerts or auditions.

I'm a professional oboist who has played with major orchestras, taken auditions, played a New York debut recital. I have used Inderal and am familiar with its effects, good and bad.

I'm especially interested in issues of psychological dependence (or not), and why musicians who are fairly open backstage are mum about using it to outsiders. (or occasionally to their colleagues,) as well as ethical issues surrounding some musicians having an "advantage" at auditions that others do not.

Also, has anyone had bad experiences from taking too much, mixing it with a contraindicated drug, using without a doctor's supervision (consequences are serious for asthmatics and diabetics), or from buying abroad/online?

You may email me directly at crimsons@hotmail.com. In case this application blanks out email addresses, that's crimsons-at-hotmail-dot-com.

Thanks very much, and I look forward to your discussions both online and in my email.

Yours,

Blair Tindall

Replies (79)

September 5, 2004 at 08:49 PM · Email me privately and I can answer just about every topic from experience which was mentioned in your post.

jennifer_47336@hotmail.com

-JW

September 6, 2004 at 03:04 AM · At the risk of appearing stupid i must ask -what are beta-blockers? i gathered that they must be some sort of a drug, but im not completely sure. Can someone fill me in?

~Lindsay

September 6, 2004 at 03:11 AM · Greetings,

they are a streoid which block the adrenal receptors thereby preventing the physical symptoms of stage fright (usually) such as bow shaking. Not recommended at all. You can find a good article on them at:

Internet cellosociety.com -sorry can`t remeber the exact title but a google search will pull itup. AQlternatively just look up beta blockers on your search engine,