Are Some Violins More Physically "Playable"?

August 15, 2004 at 01:05 AM · Hi, I have been playing violin for almost 15 years but have been having trouble in the last few because of left wrist problems. I had surgery which at the time I was told would fix my problem but it appears not. Ive seen several other doctors who are at the top of their field and there is nothing that can be fixed surgically, so basically I need to stretch, get physical therapy, and take anti inflamatories with playing.

I'm looking for a new violin because I am still playing on an old one I inherited from my grandmother.

I also play guitar, and know that some guitars are easier to play because of thinner necks, etc and am wondering if the same can be true for violins. If i can find something that is more 'playable' it may help me extend my practices without inducing inflamation.

So what I am wondering is if anyone can tell me a place to shop and also what kind of violins to look at that may be right for me.

Thanks so much, I am new to this forum and found it while trying to research the things I discussed online.

Replies (29)

August 15, 2004 at 03:53 AM · Hi Ben!

I'm not much of an expert on this one, but I do know a few people in MD who are experts on violins and could (possibly) help you out. I'm a bit hesitant to put names and contact info on here, but I'd be more than happy to give you some information on local luthiers who hardcore know about this stuff.

just email me at tatkinso at su.edu

August 15, 2004 at 04:15 AM · I am not a doc, and it is hard to say much specifically without knowing your particular medical situation. But I can say I have dealt with some nervy tendonitis in past years. It was a nagging issue for several years, but now no problems for years.

So, my experience:

1) I found that taking time off was essential for my recovery, and then ramping up practice time very slowly when starting again.