Shaky Bowing

August 3, 2004 at 05:42 PM · Hi, guys! I'm 21 and I've just started learning to play the violin. I've been playing for three months now and I have a recurring problem - my bow quivers when I draw it across the strings, particularly when I'm on the upper half of my bow. I've tried pressing the bow down harder (this takes away some of the quivering) but it still produces a slightly shaky sound. I've also tried bowing with no pressure from my index finger, but the bow still shakes.

Moreover, a friend who has also been playing the violin for several months now commented that I "look tense" when I bow. As to why I do, he cannot particularly point out.

When I asked my teacher, he gave me an exercise of bowing really slowly (8 counts per bow) but my bow still quivers. He just told me to practice my scales everyday, and eventually, the quivering will stop. It seems like a good idea, but I still don't know WHY my bow quivers.

Help! Can anyone please tell me what I can do? Thanks.

Replies (43)

August 3, 2004 at 06:11 PM · my shaking seemed to just stop over time, but it still occasionally happens if i'm nervous or tense. so definitely look into methods of relaxation like deep breathing, and try using a more relaxed grip on both the bow and the instrument

August 3, 2004 at 06:36 PM · hey ya! i have encountered students with the same problem. what i can say is concentrate on gravity. figure out a way to hold your violin so that the bow simply rests on the strings, let gravity do the job. and with the index finger of your bow hand, press down as you bow. and think gravity as you bow. you may end up having a different way of holding your violin for each string. look at yourself in a mirror while doing so.

have you figured out how to bend your bow wrist accordingly as you bow? that could be a factor too.

anyways, i will be curious to hear about what you think of my suggestion. please let me know!

good luck!