Hearing Protection

July 19, 2004 at 08:26 PM · Hello all,

I've been curious as to how many decibels do orchestral instruments produce normally. Most sites said violins are around 80-100, other instruments are slightly different. I'm just an amateur so it doesn't really matter, but do any of you professionals use earplugs or a mute constantly? and what would you do if there's an orchestra/quartet rehearsal or something? what would you recommend that wouldn't distort the pitch or muffle the sound too much?

Thank you!

Replies (16)

July 19, 2004 at 09:40 PM · According to the numbers I have, oboe can reach about 95, violin can reach 100, timpani reaches 110, flutes reach 112, and trumpets/trombones reach 114. The Boston Symphony did a sound study in '97 and sound levels on stage ranged from an average of about 70-79 to peak levels of 108-128. Chamber music levels are lower... about 75-80, according to the numbers I have.

Most professional orchestras provide foam earplugs free of charge if you want them, and also set up plexiglass sound shields at various hot spots on stage. You can also get special musician's earplugs from Etymotic Reasearch, although you need to get those through an audiologist. Some orchestras will subsidize part of the cost. I don't know what percentage of musicians use earplugs regularly; it would be an interesting study. My spouse plays professionally, and he uses earplugs or cotton for some of the louder pops shows but not for classical series performances.

July 20, 2004 at 01:28 AM · Wouldn't it impair listening to your intonation and relative volume? I am new to the violin but played French horn for many years, and it's hard enough to keep that instrument in tune, without losing the overtones by wearing ear plugs. I honestly never even thought of wearing any ear protection. And I only hear from one ear since I had meningitis when I was a small child.