Non-classical/Suzuki beginner's material?

July 16, 2004 at 05:06 AM · Hello,

I played the French horn for about 10 years, and put myself through college doing that. I honestly got very burned out on it, mostly my own fault. A couple years after I graduated college (I had sold my horn, and still don't regret it), I decided that I'd like to learn the violin because it is 100% different than the French horn. The music that I really enjoy on the violin is folk/bluegrass/fiddle music. However, I found a teacher that wanted to teach me Suzuki (even though I am proficient at reading music), who got me started on really difficult technical etudes almost right away, and basically sent me very mixed messages about whether I was a beginner or not! Also, I just really despised the music that I was playing. So my practicing slowly dwindled down, and at the first chance of an excuse, I stopped taking lessons.

After not having picked up the violin for over a year, I have recently decided to try again. This almost made me fall over, but the A string was not a bit out of tune. I guess that is points for the quality of the violin. :D The teacher did sell me this violin and bow, and I really love them.

Anyway, I would like to start over, but I do think I am more likely to succeed if I find the music interesting. So are there any violin instructional methods that focus more on techniques from folk music? I do want to gain the technical ability, but I am wondering if I can do it while skipping the music that I find uninspiring?

I am 26, and from the other posts here I do see that it isn't too late to start! I don't want to be a master violinist or anything, I just want to have fun with it and entertain myself, my family, and maybe play with some small local group some day.

Thanks in advance!

Replies (5)