Why Would My Playing Be Better After Not Practicing?

May 2, 2004 at 12:38 AM · I am a beginner currently taking lessons. I just wanted to ask a question and need an answer from you old pros. I had to miss a couple a classes because we are moving and I have not been able to play. I just picked up the violin a few hours ago and I played those simple pieces great. In the past, I would always mess up on these but my coordination and my sound got better after a few days of absence. Hey, tell me what is that?

Replies (40)

May 2, 2004 at 02:48 AM · that's weird...perhaps it's because you have spent some time away from it so now you feel really fresh and you are more enthused in your music.

May 2, 2004 at 02:56 AM · well as a violinist who has played for a long time...

i've had quite a long break from structured lesson/practise ect. as i've finished my univeristy degree in performance ect. it's the first major break i've had like this since i started playing when i was three and all of a sudden everything has kinda come together for me too....

i think a break lets your subconcious thoughts about the violin and violin things your working on, to become part of the concious and physical processes you use when you play.

well thats what i reckon...

also time out means that your not stressing and beating yourself up about not being able to do something ...this calmness in approaching the violin also does wonders.

May 2, 2004 at 04:27 AM · If playing the violin was anything like running, it would be because you let your muscles rest up. They come back with new strength and freshness after a short layoff.

May 2, 2004 at 04:30 AM · Plus, I agree with the idea that your brain continues to work out problems even when you are not aware.