I Need Help On Intonation!!

March 29, 2004 at 07:15 AM · I have been practicing intonation for two months now, and I can only get close to the note I want, and not that perfect pitch (sometime, it's not even near the that note). So I feel like I didn't get anywhere again (note, I ask for help alot). So how long does it takes for you to get that perfect pitch? I usally practice by playing along with a tuner and a scales midi. Is there any other practice I should do? I often listen to midi scales when I'm not playing, too.

Replies (33)

March 29, 2004 at 09:32 AM · Greetings,

Jimmy, it seems to me that this -playingalong with tuners- and stuff isreally becoming a fashion. Personally, I think it should be banned, along with cranberry juice. What might be happening (apart from teaching yourself to play out of tune with tempered pitch- not for the violin in general) is thta you are actually doing things the wrong wayround, or using your head less.

Youtune the open strings and then these are the guide. From these you imgaine the pitch of what you are going to play and then play and try to make decisions about what might need changing, again, using the open stirngs as a hint.

In other words, you do the work, not a machine.

The secret of intonation is a lot of careful scale work with no vibrato. It"s that simple...

Cheers,

Buri

March 29, 2004 at 04:20 PM · I second that Bury! Along with the cran. Juice.

Slow scales and listening to every note. Working with the teacher on this is also importante, maybe the teacher can use the piano sometimes.

Peter

March 29, 2004 at 04:24 PM · ..also, one thing that seems to help my students is to play scales along with them a few times.

Peter

March 29, 2004 at 04:38 PM · You could play the scales with someone playing the tonic note (the first note of the scale), preferably on the violin.

March 29, 2004 at 04:44 PM · Try studying chromatic scales.

It'll help.

March 30, 2004 at 12:51 AM · Greetings,