Isaac Malkin

March 28, 2004 at 06:25 AM · Hello Everyone!

Mr. Malkin is my cousin's teacher and I heard he is a fantastic pedagogue. I was just curious if anyone here has studied with him, or knows anyone that has, or just heard something about him. Thanks. Chris

Replies (13)

March 28, 2004 at 12:39 PM · yeah he teaches at msm prep (at he did when i went there) and he teaches at the college. later.

March 28, 2004 at 10:12 PM · Both of his daughters are very good violinists.

April 26, 2004 at 02:09 AM · I studied with Malkin for about a year. Unfortunately I had just started college and was commuting from philadelphia once a week, so I didn't get much out of it (my fault, primarily). It's always a stupid idea to mix violin + academics.

He's a very nice person, and it's true that both of his daughters are amazing violinists. He helped me a lot with tension in my right arm. His daughter Ana is an excellent pedagogue as well. I thought she was even better in my case.

May 13, 2004 at 09:14 PM · Chris,

I do not recommend Malkin as a teacher. First, many of my collegeues have studied with him and told me that all he works on is technique, and no musical aspects whatsoever. They also tell me that he keeps them on pieces for long amounts of time. One student was playing one concerto for two years. You may not want to believe me, but it is true.

Malkin is very out for the money also. He only wants to know you if you are going to pay his rate. Many people also say that his daughters are good, but after seeing them perform, they are nothing to write home about. They are not great. Average, but not great. Overall, I suggest you find a better teacher. If you are looking at the manhattan school, try Zukerman, Kopec, or Kalinovsky. Many people have really enjoyed studing with them.

Good luck.

May 14, 2004 at 08:40 PM · Neil Weintrob

May 14, 2004 at 11:42 PM · Chris, are you thinking of studying more, or are you just curiuos?