Muscles Burning in My Neck!

March 24, 2004 at 06:39 AM · I've been using the Kun shoulder rest for 8 years now, and I've had no problems with it until a few short days ago...Now I feel like I've never even held a violin before...It's so awkward and uncomfortable! And when I try to get a few hours of practicing in, my muscles in my neck feel like they're burning! OUCH! Does anyone have any comments about this?

Replies (30)

March 24, 2004 at 06:52 AM · Maybe your neck is saying "I don't want to be restricted by a clamping shoulder rest any more, let me free". Check out all the postings on playing without a shoulder rest.

I'm only semi-serious. If it keeps hurting, see an Alexander Teacher.

March 24, 2004 at 07:39 AM · Do you have a long neck? I recommend a Wolf Forte Secondo...they're the best. Kun is for short necked people...

March 24, 2004 at 07:33 AM · I agree with Susan, and here's why:

I have 2 jobs at the moment: IT consultant and Dogwalker...

Combine this with the violin and (for me) it'a pretty fulfilling life: IT (intellectual), Dogs (physical), violin (creative/emotional)...However...Then consider the potential down-sides:

IT (bad posture for long hours at the keyboard), Dogs (tugging in all directions...Ow!), violin (odd position, repetition, etc...).

What I'm getting at here, is have you considered other factors in your life? Started a new job that has different physical demands than you are used to, etc...?

With the exception of the dogs, the Alexander technique can help you with all the aspects I just mentioned.

I have already shown my ineptitude at describing my Alexander experience, so I won't try here, but just check out the Alexander thread (Susan, Alison and Buri all have some good advice!) and find a good teacher.

March 24, 2004 at 08:03 AM · Susan: It's funny, my Alexander teacher (also violinist) uses a pad as well and I'm thinking of checking it out myself.