Looking For the Right Violin for Under 5k

March 3, 2004 at 05:46 PM · i am in the process of buying an "upgrade" violin. but really, i'm looking to buy the last violin i'll need. and my goal is to do that without breaking the bank. this may seem a bit odd, but i play for my own enjoyment (and perhaps also for others now and then). i'm not a student hoping to become a professional. i WAS a student studying to be a professional 15 years ago. i got burned out and left the violin behind me. completely. in a redemptive sort of way, i've picked up my old violin just 6 months ago, and i have found what i had been missing all my years of playing as a student. the joy. something i've never had in the relentless competitive world that was my violin playing experience.

so now, i am playing simply for the joy of it. yet my ears tell me i need a new fiddle. i can hear things now that i never heard before. i need an instrument that can express the stuff inside. the grief. the rage. the wonder. the joy. the beauty and ability to express the longing of one's heart through a simple yet profound instrument. that's my story (the short version anyway).