Jaw Pain

February 20, 2004 at 07:12 AM · I studied violin fairly seriously as a student and then gave it up for 20 years when I raised my children. About a month ago,I started playing again. Among other things, I needed a new shoulder rest.

I purchased a Kun. At first I thought it was great. It was higher than my old one so I hardly have to bend my head down to hold the violin. But now I have a lot of pain in my jaw. Now I am thinking that maybe a lower shoulder rest is better. If there is more space between my chin and the violin and I have to lower my head more, then maybe there is more of the natural weight of the head holding the violin.

Can anyone comment on the height of the shoulder rest and how much the head should have to lower rest the chin on the chinrest?

Thanks.

Replies (40)

February 20, 2004 at 04:26 PM · Could you be unconciously clenching your jaw when you play? I did that for awhile, or I still sometimes do it when learning something new and difficult. I don't notice it until my jaw starts hurting, but my teacher can tell immediatly if I start doing that.

February 20, 2004 at 06:59 PM · I'm experiencing the same jaw pains. I didn't think it was my shoulder rest though, because my jaw only started hurting after I got braces, which is quite recently, like a month ago. Anyway, I have a KUN too... I think it's too high for me.

February 21, 2004 at 02:22 AM · Greetings,