Seattle Area Teachers

January 19, 2004 at 04:19 AM · I will be moving to Seattle this summer and wanted to get a head start on finding a good teacher violin in the Seattle/Rainier area. I will be a junior in high school next year. Thanks in advance for your help.

Replies (10)

January 19, 2004 at 05:18 PM · maybe your teacher right now could recommend one???.....

January 20, 2004 at 06:56 PM · I'm sure that there are many good people in that area. One person I know of is Maria Sampen. She's really nice and a very good player. She teaches at the Univ. of Puget Sound in Tacoma. I don't know where she lives but it's worth finding out if she's taking new students.

If you do contact her, send her my regards.

Good luck!

November 6, 2004 at 11:53 PM · Ok, I'm new to this site, and this is probably coming way to late, but I studied with Svend Ronning in high school in VA before he moved out to Seattle. He's a FABULOUS teacher and really interested in younger dedicated violinists. His teaching was so valuable to me and I would HIGHLY recommend trying him out even if you have found a teacher. He's a great resource.

November 7, 2004 at 06:43 PM · I currently live in the seattle area, I've been to a masterclass with svend and also participate in a several things that the works with such as the Tacoma Youth Symphony (way better than seattle, do it if you can) and then a Chamber Group. He's great. Also, About twenty.thirty minutes form seattle is my teacher, Rhonda Marsh, her lessons are cheap and she's absolutely fantastic. Her students are quite literally the best in the state. She has a waiting list right now, but she's so great. If you call the University of Puget Sound, she works through them and so do other good teachers.

November 7, 2004 at 06:59 PM · Juan - I live in the Seattle area, and have met a number of teachers through the last few years. Where in the Seattle area will you be living? What "kind" of teacher are you looking for? (Suzuki, etc.?)